

Marsh Award for Conservation Biology Winners

2022 John Gittleman

For outstanding contributions to ecology and conservation biology

2021 Kate Jones

for outstanding contributions to conservation science, including biodiversity monitoring and zoonotic disease

2020 Rosie Woodroffe

for outstanding contributions to behavioural ecology, human-wildlife conflict and wildlife disease

2019 Michael Bruford

for outstanding contributions to conservation genetics

2018 Steffen Oppel

for outstanding contributions to the ecology and conservation of birds

2017 Susan Cheyne

for outstanding contributions to the conservation of primates and carnivores

2016 Richard Griffiths

for outstanding contributions to the conservation of amphibians and reptiles

2015 Stephen Redpath

for outstanding contributions to human-wildlife conflict

2014 Ben Collen

for high-impact research on biodiversity monitoring, conservation science and informing policy

2013 Debbie Pain

for outstanding contributions to our understanding of ecotoxicology, and the ecology and conservation of birds

2012 Dave Goulson

for significant contributions to our understanding of bumblebee biology, ecology and conservation

2011 Jane Hill

for contributions to the understanding of the effects of habitat degradation and climate change on insect distribution and abundance

2010 Paul Donald

for outstanding contributions to ecological fieldwork and conservation

2009 Ana Rodrigues

for significant contributions to a broad range of scientific areas in the field of conservation science.

2008 Isabelle Côté

for research on tropical coastal ecosystems, particularly coral reefs, and the use of meta-analysis to tackle broad-scale ecological questions.

2007 Stuart Butchart

for the development of an influential new index to measure trends in the status of threatened bird populations

2006 Sarah Wanless

for long-term research into the ecology and conservation of nesting sea birds

2005 Bill Sutherland

for extensive contributions to evidence-based conservation

2004 Chris Thomas

for his work on butterflies, which has had a major impact on their conservation

2003 Stuart Pimm

for his contribution to conservation biology

2002 Callum Roberts

for his contribution to marine conservation

2001 Eleanor Jane Milner-Gulland

for her contribution to conservation biology

2000 Andrew Balmford

for his contribution to conservation biology.

1999 John Croxall

for his contribution to avian conservation.

1998 Peter S Maitland

for his outstanding contribution to aquatic conservation.

1997 Rhys E Green

for excellent research on practical issues in bird conservation.

1996 Jeremy A Thomas

for his outstanding work in conservation ecology and in particular for his classic study on the conservation of the large blue butterfly and the way that he has underpinned this work with excellent science.

1995 John D Goss-Custard

for his outstanding contributions to the understanding of shore bird populations and to the management and conservation of these birds and their habitat.

1994 Ian Newton

for laying secure foundations for the conservation of birds through his distinguished studies of their life history and population dynamics.

1993 Georgina M Mace

for building links between fundamental ecology and its practical applications in conservation.

1992 Derek A Ratcliffe

for his work on bird conservation and for his role in the discovery of the effects of pesticides on wild populations.

1991 Robert M May

for distinguished contributions to population biology and ecology and more generally to understanding of the properties of non-linear systems.