

# **ZSL Stamford Raffles Award Winners**

# 2021 Stuart Roberts

for outstanding contributions to entomology

## 2017 Paul Brock

for outstanding contributions to entomology

## 2016 Malcolm Tait

for outstanding contributions to the public appreciation of wildlife

## 2015 Nick Tregenza

for outstanding contributions to acoustic monitoring of cetaceans

#### 2014 Elise Andrew

for significant contributions to science communication

#### 2013 David Mallon

for significant contributions to antelope conservation

## 2012 Stephen Petty

for significant long-term monitoring and data collection that has contributed to our understanding of the ecology of tawny owl populations, their vole prey and other raptors

## 2011 Dan Danahar

for contributions towards the advancement of biodiversity education

## 2010 Richard Lewington

for contributions for wildlife illustration

## 2009 Bob Swann

for contributions to ornithology

## 2007 Ted Benton

for contributions to our knowledge on bees, butterflies and dragonflies

## 2006 Peter Chandler

for contributions to our knowledge of European diptera

#### 2005 Peter Grubb

for contributions to mammalian systematics

2003	<b>Christopher du Feu</b> for contributions to ornithology
2002	<b>Thomas Jones Roberts</b> for furthering our understanding of wildlife in Pakistan
2001	Norman Moore for research on the ecology and behaviour of dragonflies
1999	Edward Max Nicholson for life-long contributions to conservation
1998	<b>Clive Carefoot</b> for outstanding research on plumage genetics
1996	Norma Chapman for outstanding contribution to the knowledge of deer in Britain
1994	J Hall-Crags for long-standing contributions to the description of bird song
1993	W R P Bourne for contribution to the study of seabirds
1992	J D Summers-Smith for world-renowned work on sparrows
1990	<b>D L Harrison</b> for distinguished contribution to the study of mammals
1989	Major K W England for contribution to the taxonomy of tropical sea-anemones
1988	<b>W F H Ansell</b> for contribution to knowledge of the taxonomy and distribution of African mammals
1987	Fiona Guiness for contributions to research on red deer in the British Isles
1985	A F Millidge for distinguished contributions to arachnology
1984	<b>W J Le Quesne</b> for distinguished contribution to the taxonomy and biology of Hemiptera

1983	Major W D Gallagher for contributions to the ornithology of Arabia
1982	R M Gambles for distinguished work on Odonata
1981	LtCol. A M Emmet for work on Microlepidoptera
1980	<b>E H Eason</b> for distinguished work on the taxonomy of centipedes
1979	<b>S.M. Turk</b> for contributions to the study of seahorse life and marine molluscs
1978	Jonathan Kingdon for contributions to the study of East African mammals
1977	Stanley Cramp for contributions to ornithology
1975	<b>Lieutenant-Colonel J.N. Eliot</b> for distinguished taxonomic work on Lepidoptera, particularly the family Lycaenidae
1974	<b>A.E. Ellis</b> for contributions to the study of molluscs
1973	<b>G.H. Locket</b> for contributions to arachnology
1972	<b>L.G. Higgins</b> for outstanding contributions to knowledge of Lepidoptera
1971	<b>B.P. Hall</b> for work on the taxonomy and zoogeography of African birds
1970	<b>D.R. Rosevear</b> in recognition of contributions to knowledge of West African mammalian fauna
1969	<b>R.A. Jubb</b> for contributions to southern African ichthyology
1968	Guy Mountfort for his contributions to the study of natural history

1983

1967 Maxwell Savage

for contributions to knowledge of the amphibians

- **The Reverent E.A. Armstrong** for contributions to ornithology
- **Ernest Neal** for contributions to mammalogy and entomology
- **C.W. Wright** for contributions to palaeontology
- Cyril Winthrop Mackworth Praed for contributions to ornithology
- **R.E. Moreau** for contributions to ornithology
- **W.S. Bristowe** for contributions to arachnology