

ZSL Thomas Henry Huxley Award and Marsh Prize Winners

2022	Rodrigo Oyanedel, University of Oxford, for his thesis 'Tackling small scale fisheries non-compliance'
2021	Tim Lamont, University of Exeter, for his thesis 'The Changing Song of the Sea: Soundscapes as indicators and drivers of ecosystem transition on tropical coral reefs'
2020	Benjamin Van Doren , University of Oxford, for his project Flexibility in avian migration across scales
2019	Patrick Kennedy, University of Bristol, for his thesis Uncertainty and the evolution of altruism: theory and fieldwork in the paper wasps of Central and South America
2018	Zu Ermgassen, University of Cambridge, for his thesis Strategies for sustainable livestock production in Brazil and the European Community
2017	Shana Caro, University of Oxford, for her thesis Social and environmental factors in the evolution of signalling
2016	Shan Quah, University of Oxford, for her thesis Conservation and innovation – the evolution of the metazoan microRNA landscape and its contribution to reproduction and development
2015	David Labonte, University of Cambridge, for this thesis Biomechanics of controllable attachment in insects
2014	Ben Ashby, University of Oxford, for his thesis The effects of contact patterns and genetic specificity on host and parasite evolution
2013	Helen Leggett, University of Oxford, for her thesis Developments in social evolution and virulence in parasites
2012	Mary Caswell Stoddard, University of Cambridge, for her thesis The evolution of colour, pattern and structure in avian eggs
2011	Kate Jordan, University of Warwick, for her thesis Exploring the generative architecture of intramembranous ossification
2010	Sam Weber, University of Exeter, for his thesis Maternal effects in the green turtle

2009	Tom Fayle, University of Cambridge, for his thesis Ant community structure in a rainforest microcosm
2008	Hannah Rowland , University of Liverpool, for her thesis The visual and behavioural ecology of countershading and other prey defences
2007	Tim Hawes , University of Birmingham, for his thesis Plasticity in arthropod cryotypes – a polar perspective
2006	Gina Galli , University of Birmingham, for her thesis Reptilian cardiovascular physiology: from whole animal to cardiac myocyte
2005	Andy Gardner , University of Edinburgh, for his thesis Developments in the theory of social evolution
2004	Marta Zlatic , University of Cambridge, for her PhD thesis Establishment of connectivity in the central nervous system of <i>Drosophila</i> .
2003	Graham Taylor , University of Oxford, for his thesis Animal flight dynamics: mechanics of stability and control
2002	Andrea Manica , University of Cambridge, for his thesis Filial cannibalism in a sergeant damselfish
2001	Stephen Rossiter , University of Bristol, for his thesis The causes and consequences of genetic structure in the greater horseshoe bat <i>Rhinolophus ferrumequinum</i>
2000	Sarah Hunt , University of Bristol, for her thesis The ecology of vision in a passeriform bird: the blue tit (<i>Parus caeruleus</i>)
1999	Frank Clarke , Institute of Zoology, ZSL, for his thesis determinants of reproductive status and mate choice in captive colonies of the naked mole rat, <i>Heterocephalus glaber</i>
1998	Georgy Koentges , Kings College London, for his thesis The role of the rhomencephalic neural crest in craniofacial pattern formation
1997	Catherine Williams , University of Cambridge, for her thesis Foraging ecology of nectar-collecting bumblebees and honeybees
1996	Alexander Willmott , University of Cambridge, for his thesis The mechanics of hawkmoth flight
1995	P. Stander , University of Cambridge, for his thesis Ecology and hunting behaviour of lions and leopards