

ZSL Charles Darwin Award and Marsh Prize Winners

2023	Gwennan Hughes, University of Exeter, for her project 'Disruptive colouration delays antipredator escape responses in ground-foraging songbirds'
2021	John Stratford, University College London, for his project 'The potential of signal detection theory in behavioural ecology'
2020	Bendetta Veneroni, University of Aberdeen, for her project Changing perceptions in a changing environment: assessing local ecological knowledge and shifting baselines among fishing communities of the Italian northern Adriatic Sea
2019	Will Smith, University Oxford, for his project Are wild rock doves in the British Isles distinct from feral domestic pigeons? A phenotypic and genetic analysis
2018	Katherine Assersohn, University of Sheffield, for her project Inbreeding and prenatal maternal investment have no detectable influence on sperm numbers in Japanese quail (<i>Coturnix japonica</i>)
2017	Joe Wynn, University of Oxford, for his project 'Gone with the wind: how a pelagic seabird reacts to weather'
2016	Simon Chen, University of Cambridge, for his project Attachment mechanisms in caterpillars
2015	Patrick Meyer Higgins, University of Oxford, for his project A comparative study of Strouhal number in birds: on wing morphology, flight mode, and methodology
2014	Benjamin Hopkins, University of Oxford, for his project 'The role of the accessory gland secondary cells in mediating sperm competition in <i>Drosophila</i>
2013	Mark Scherz, University of Edinburgh, for his project The paraphyly of ratites just doesn't fly
2012	Katrina Spensley, University of Oxford, for her project Population structure of the malarial protein <i>Plasmodium falciparum</i> Apical Membrane Antigen 1

2011	Marius Wenzel, University of Aberdeen, for his project Patterns of dispersal, genetic structure and phylogeography of European populations of the red-billed chough (<i>Pyrrhocorax pyrrhocorax</i>)
2010	Rudi Verspoor, of Edinburgh University, for his project: An investigation of four putatively selected genes in Drosophila pseudoobscura
2009	Haihan Tan, University of Cambridge, for his project Novel roles of nuclear receptors in cell fate decisions of neural stem cells and differentiated progeny in Drosophila
2008	Jonathan Carruthers, University of Sheffield, for his project Overt or covert: do social parasitic bumblebees repel or mimic their hosts?
2007	Janet Maclean, University of Aberdeen, for her project An investigation into the presence of selection on the melanocorotim-1 receptor coat pigmentation gene and how this selection might act in water voles that are patchily distributed in Scottish uplands
2006	Helen Weavers, University of Cambridge, for her project, Nephirin is a protein in vertebrate podocytess that, when mutated, causes kidney damage
2005	Julia Hunt, Imperial College London, for her project Effects of competition and dispersal on coexistence in two-species metapopulations